5 Fresh Minutes With Gorilla Phil (@GorillaPhil)

 

Screen Shot 2013-08-16 at 12.49.54 PM (1)With a name like Gorilla Phi you should be ready to be about that life.  Up and coming rapper Gorilla Phil is and will gladly tell anyone he meets. Unlike many rappers who are rapping fantasies about things they may never attain, Gorilla Phil takes the approach of “real rap” focussing on his life and the moves he makes. We took a few minutes to talk to him and found out that he is a dose of complex simplicity and the best way to get to know him is to simply listen.

Tell us about your name. How did you come up with Gorilla Phil?

I don’t know really. If I remember correctly, someone called me that one day when I was out selling t-shirts at an Eritrean soccer game.  I was about my money so I was real aggressive selling the t-shirts. I had several different nicknames when I was growing up but Gorilla Phil stuck.

You are Eritrean. How do you keep that part of you prevalent in your music?

It just comes out bruh.  It’s who I am. A lot of shit I be talking about it comes out…life style, brotherhood…that’s what makes it easier to be an African in traffic …I know I have people everywhere makes it easier for me. I have brothers no matter where I go

Watch the video for “Phil Talkin Sh*t”

Who are some of your music influences?

Man, there are so many. Let me see…2Pac, Yellowman, The Mob Figaz, E-40,  Fela Kuti….Man I got so many.

“Africans In Traffic Vol.1” is a unique name for a mixtape. Where did it come from?

It comes from really being in traffic, Being out here, getting it and moving. I have traveled a lot. Been traveling for years. I rep being African wherever I go.   And I always have. I have brothers wherever I go.  Just being in traffic and out here moving inspired me.

What should the world know about Gorilla Phil?

I’m here. The  sh*t is real bruh. I really exist. This is not your imagination. This is real. Everything I am rapping about is real life. Nothing

Leave a comment

Fresh Archives